RESOLUTION OF SEGUIN CITY COUNCIL, SEGUIN, TEXAS AUTHORIZING SUPPORT FOR PASSAGE OF STATE LEGISLATION ESTABLISHING A PORTION OF INTERSTATE HIGHWAY 10 AS THE TEXAS GAME WARDEN TEYRAN "TY" PATTERSON MEMORIAL HIGHWAY IN THE STATE OF TEXAS

WHEREAS, Texans lost a valuable member of the law enforcement community with the death of Texas Parks and Wildlife Department Game Warden Teyran "Ty" Patterson. Game Warden Patterson was born on November 18, 1978 in Seguin, Guadalupe County, Texas to Joe and ViAnn Patterson. At an early age he accepted and acknowledged God through his son, Jesus Christ, as his Lord and Savior; and

WHEREAS, Ty attended Seguin High School and graduated in 1998. Ty was a dedicated student and an outstanding football and baseball player at his high school alma mater. He went on to graduate from Southwest Texas State University in San Marcos, Texas in 2004, with a degree in Criminal Justice; and

WHEREAS, Ty began as a game warden cadet on January 1, 2005 and graduated from the 51st Texas Game Warden Training Academy on July 1, 2005 and was stationed in Johnson County, Texas. Ty was a young, ambitious, smart, loving, caring human being and no one was a stranger to him; and

WHEREAS, On Wednesday morning, May 30, 2007, Ty's day off, Ty lost his life during a recovery operation while looking for a drowned victim in the Paluxy River in Somervell County, Texas. Ty, a courageous young game warden sacrificed his life to save his game warden partner when their boat capsized in swift flood waters; and

WHEREAS, the Seguin City Council supports amending the Texas Transportation Code to designate a portion of Interstate 10 in Guadalupe County from the intersection with State Highway 123 Bypass to the intersection of State Highway 130 as the TEXAS GAME WARDEN TEYRAN "TY" PATTERSON MEMORIAL HIGHWAY;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Seguin City Council hereby offers this resolution as demonstrated by our official signatures below in support of state legislation to establish a portion of Interstate Highway 10 as the TEXAS GAME WARDEN TEYRAN "TY" PATTERSON MEMORIAL HIGHWAY.

It is hereby *ORDERED* that this Resolution be recorded in the minutes of Seguin City Council this $\underline{7}^{th}$ day of <u>February</u>, 2017.

Mayor Don Keil

Ernesto Leal, District 1

Jeannette Crabb, District 2

Phil Seidenberger, District 3

Chris Rangel, District 4

Carlos Medrano, District 5

Fonda Mathis, District 6

Donna Dodgen, District 7

Mark Herbold, District 8

Naomi Manski, City Secretary